Finding Out it’s Positive

So this is our coming out story…..I’m pregnant! We are thrilled to be able to share our news with you all! We’ve waited a little while to tell everyone because we wanted to be in the so called “safe zone”. We feel comfortable enough at this point to scream it to the world!

Our story is pretty great if you want to settle in and hear it. Dustin and I were married March 2010. We’ve been together forever it seems like though! Soon after we were married I started to hear the ticking! Dustin was nowhere close unfortunately!

After we got married, we moved a few times, uprooted our life in NC for his new job in Cincinnati. We moved back to Charlotte 8 short months later. After moving back we knew Charlotte was our home, so we wanted to make the right choice when we chose a house to buy. Making the right choice meant spending 4 months living with my parents to find the perfect place! We were so lucky that they love us so much that they opened their home up to us and our dog Kody and cat Indy. After 4 months of searching….Finally we found our home!! We bought a house this past January in a wonderful neighborhood! We’re so happy with our decision and we finally felt like we were in a good place to settle down and hopefully grow into a family.

After months of painting and decorating, the house has come along and we feel like it’s home. After bringing babies up almost once a week (hehe), Dustin was finally ready and agreed with me that we were ready. After 2 months of trying we were so lucky to get the positive we were looking for!

The night I found out I was pregnant, Dustin had gone over to a friend’s house for a party. I stayed home because I knew it was going to be just the boys and I didn’t feel like staying out late. That night while laying on the couch watching girly movies, I started to feel nauseous. I thought it was very strange bceause I never get that feeling. I was a few days late but I wasn’t really worried and just knew I wasn’t pregnant. So after feeling woozy for a bit, I just decided to take a test. I had convinced myself that I was just wasting a test (those things aren’t cheap!) but I went ahead with it anyways. I made myself walk away from it for a minute, most other times I was hovering over waiting for a 2nd line to appear. After coming back over to the test, I immediately saw the 2 lines!!! I was amazed and shocked and thrilled all at the same time! I laughed and I cried all at once, my emotions were all over the place! After calming myself down a bit, I decided that I had to come up with a good way to tell Dustin.

So I started googling way to tell husband you’re pregnant, I couldn’t find any that felt right. So I sat and thought a minute. I came up with the idea to run out to the bookstore and buy our favorite children’s books and write in Dustin’s favorite a little message to our baby.

Dustin ended up spending the night at the party and came home early the next morning. After hanging out in the morning, we decided to go out to get some lunch. I waited until he showered and came out before I gave the books to him. I had been shopping earlier the day before and just casually told him I got him a present while I was out. Instantly, he looked confused and worried. He opened the gift bag very slowly and pulled out the books and looked at me and said, “What is this?”. I told him to look on the inside of his book. As soon as he glanced down he realized what it meant! His reaction was better than I could have even imagined it! He was just as happy and thrilled as I was.

So this blog will be a little journey through our life during our first pregnancy and hopefully will continue to see our baby grow through his or her first years! Please stay tuned, there’s more to come!

2 thoughts on “Finding Out it’s Positive

Leave a Reply

